10344402_10152045908662657_8245746782060224256_oA lot has happened in the week since we got the news about John’s cancer being back and spreading. Of course, it’s been a roller coaster of emotions for us and we’ve been inundated with offers of support, prayers, love, and ways to treat and/or cure his cancer.

To be honest, it’s been a little overwhelming. I have so many links to click on and so much research to do and I feel like I want to get it all figured out right now. Mostly because of the elephant in the living room.

On Monday, as we discussed all of the treatment options and how the holistic approach fits in with the medical/clinical trial approach, John said, “You know, there’s an elephant in the living room here. I really need to know what my prognosis is.”

Never ask the question, “How long do I have, doc?” unless you’re prepared for the answer. On Tuesday, John got a call from his oncologist at Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, telling him there’s not a current spot in the clinical trial for him. John asked him about his specific case and what he was probably looking at as far as long term survival.

The answer was blunt and scary.

12 months.

Now, let me just say right off the bat that we have no intention of accepting that. I told him on Tuesday evening, after he called the boys and me into the living room to tell us what he’d learned, that I didn’t sign up for just 1 more year when I married him 3 1/2 years ago. I won’t settle for less than 30 more years, so if he comes to me at 80 and says he has 12 months, so be it. Otherwise, that’s not gonna fly with me. He totally agreed, so we’re definitely on the same page there. We plan to prove the medical doctors wrong, since they’re basically telling us that, even with traditional treatment, this is a terminal diagnosis and not a curable cancer.

That leads us to the decisions we’ve been looking at this week. First of all, we’re agreed that we’re willing to put anything “natural” into his body that won’t hurt him if we feel that it could help him. Right now that includes essential oils, juice from the most fresh, organic greens we can find (in the slick new juicer I just bought), a healing combination of teas that’s supposed to cure cancer called Jason Winters Tea, and medical grade cannabis oil therapy (there’s actually some pretty compelling proof that cannabis kills cancer cells – you can check it out here). It’s a lot to absorb and we’re trying to change a lot of habits all at once, especially when it comes to nutrition. We’re still looking into other traditional medical options for him as well and will be meeting with his oncologist next week to explore what’s next there.

We’re looking for the joy in every day things and laughing as often as we can. John’s identical twin brother Tony came for the weekend to help him with the plumbing and wiring in the basement, which is phase 2 of our recent remodeling project. Since John feels perfectly healthy, he’s been insistent that we carry on with our plans and that he do the work he’d planned on doing. I’m blessed that I have a network of amazing friends here locally and spread all over the country, as well as a huge support system through my online community (most of whom I’ve never even met in person). The prayers and support are felt by us so deeply and we are truly blessed to have so many who are caring for and worried about us.

The bottom line is this…statistics are just that…numbers on a page. They don’t define our individual experience and this particular number (12 months), has given us even more fuel to become a medical anomaly and prove traditional medicine wrong. Bring it on. We’re ready for the fight of our lives and we know that our love and the love that others have for us will win this war.

