John-UW-DecemberToday brought a little laughter, a few tears, and some stressful work commitments met (like doing a webinar for about 50 people sitting on the floor in a hospital hallway tonight while John was in surgery). In the past two days I have learned that waiting alone in the surgery waiting room and getting the surgeon’s report by myself is hard. I don’t want to do that again.

John is out of surgery and doing well tonight. They put in a duodenal stent and the peg tube but not the smaller j-tube. The GI doc said the tumor on his pancreas is large and involved and making it difficult for anything to get past his stomach into his lower intestinal tract (where it can be absorbed into his system). That’s why he’s lost so much weight. The stent should open that up and help with it for a while. He’s getting great care and hopefully we’ll be on track to be discharged on Thursday or Friday. He slept most of the day and was pretty loopy from the pain meds but lifted my spirits when he was awake (as always).

John makes it a point to learn every orderly, nurse, janitor, and doctor’s name and makes sure to personally thank every one of them using that name. He only sees the bright side, even when he’s in pain. I am blessed and honored to be walking this path with this incredible human being.

We are also blessed by everyone who’s supporting and praying for us. I had private messages from two different parents of my boys’ friends today asking what they could do to help, and an angel I’d never met but who knows me through Facebook brought me a lovely lunch. I have a loving, big, huge hug waiting from my sweet friend Kate and her beautiful family when I get there tonight, and a warm, comfy bed to sleep in.

We are blessed and highly favored. We will continue to count our blessings. As long as we can do that, cancer loses and love wins. Hug your loved ones a little tighter for me tonight. Call someone far away just to say I love you. Love is the great healer, comforter, and equalizer. Spread it around as much as you can. That’s how you beat cancer. ‪#‎lovetrumpscancer‬ ‪#‎everybodylovesjohnny‬‪#‎cancerloseswhenlovewins‬

 

